Thank you Verizon!

Without the support of granting agencies and private donors, we could never afford to run the gull research program on Appledore. The costs of transport and housing for our students run to the thousands of dollars each season. This year, we were fortunate to receive a substantial grant from the Verizon Foundation that covered the majority of our student costs, and also allowed us to purchase supplies for a tracking project we are excited to implement next year, so a thousand thanks to Verizon!

After our team returned home from banding in May, I received thank you notes from two of my Northern Essex Community College students that I wanted to share with all of you blog readers. I share their gratitude, and want to thank everyone who has, and continues to support access to this opportunity for students who could not otherwise participate.  Here are those students in their own words.

“Hi, my name is Yexis Hechavarria and I had the opportunity to go to Appledore Island this year to help in the gull banding project. I was born in Cuba and I have been in the country for around four years; the mere idea of me being in this country is something to celebrate, but having the chance to do things like going to island and spending there a few days is something me or my family cannot afford and that’s why I wanted to thank you all for this opportunity. I met new people and this was my first time living on an island (besides Cuba, but that doesn’t count). I have to highlight how great the food was, every day I spent there I tried something new and the people living on the island are by far the nicest people I have ever met. Living there was like having a different point of view of nature. Before the trip I didn’t really paid so much attention to song birds until I got the chance of holding a hummingbird while staying on the island; now every day I wake up I can hear them sing.

IMG_0498

Yexis (in purple) prepares to release a songbird.

The island has the idea of water conservation and now I pay attention to how much water I can save. I learned a lot about how seagull live, and now every time I go to the Market Basket I find myself checking them to see if they are banded. I’m very grateful that I was able to go the trip, and since this was my first time there I wasn’t really prepare for the journey, but if I’m able to go next year I will make sure my time is well spent. Again thank you so much the experience otherwise I wouldn’t be able to do it, and I’m looking forward to see how the gull banding project evolves.”

Luis Robles, also passed along his gratitude:

IMG_0478

Luis was still smiling at this point, gearing up for the field.

“I am grateful for the opportunity of being part of your gull banding team. There is so much that I learned about the gull banding process, birds, ecology and even some history. The people were great and the island was beautiful. I also liked the library very much and the wide variety of science books that they had.

This is the type of adventure with memories that stay with you for the rest of your life. I wouldn’t have been able to afford this trip out of my own pocket so I am very grateful to have been chosen and being able to participate. I would definitely repeat this trip and would also encourage other students to do it as well.”

Leave a Reply

